You can gain CPD hours by participating in most discussion groups. For more information, including dates, contact the group contacts listed below.

To start a new discussion group, contact vic.discussiongroups@cpaaustralia.com.au

Sector:

AGED CARE

Discussion group

Contact

Aged care services (LASA/CPA)

Dementia Australia
104 Riversdale Road, Hawthorn 3122

4.00pm – 6.00pm
Third Monday – bi-monthly

Graeme Wickenden
M: 0439 304 224
E: cfo@micare.com.au

BANKING

Discussion group

Contact

Financial institutions

CPA Australia, Level 20
28 Freshwater Place, Southbank 3006

12.15pm – 1.45pm 
Third Wednesday of the month (except Jan, Oct and Dec)

Greg Angelo
M: 0413 278 364
E: gangelo@bigpond.net.au

Antoinette Spiteri
P: 8614 0433
E: antoinette.spiteri@nab.com.au

CORPORATE

Discussion group

Contact

Corporate group

CPA Australia, Level 20
28 Freshwater Place, Southbank 3006

6.00pm – 8.00pm
Various dates

Pablo Benitez
E: corporatecommitteeCPA@gmail.com

EDUCATION

Discussion group

Contact

Catholic Primary School Accountants

Contact conveners for venue details and dates

Rodney Kwok
E: rodney@essentialaccounting.com.au

Dean Humphries
E: dean@clanbrooke.com

La Trobe CPA

Borchardt Library
Seminar Room
Bundoora Campus

12.30pm – 2.30pm
Bi-monthly

Mark Smith
P:  9479 5540
E: m.smith2@latrobe.edu.au

Sally Zhu
P: 9479 1934
E: s.zhu@latrobe.edu.au

The University of Melbourne

12.00pm – 2.00pm

Peter Mcgrath 
P: 8344 0846
E: mcgrath@unimelb.edu.au  

Enrique Mai
P: 9035 8315
E: enrique.ami@unimelb.edu.au

GENERAL

Discussion group

Contact

Box Hill General

14-16 Prospect Street, Box Hill 3128

If you are locked out, call 03 9131 5600 or 0419 564 101

6.00pm – 8.00pm
First Monday of the month

Ben Turnbull
M: 0431 975 395
E: ben.turnbull@hotmail.com

Dr Choi S Beh
M: 0419 564 101
E: csbeh@csbaccountants.com.au

Chinese accountant

CPA Australia, Level 20
28 Freshwater Place, Southbank 3006

6.00pm – 7.30pm
Third Thursday of the month

Jimmy Ma
Michael Qin
Kathy Chen
Arthur Lam
Pheobe Gao

E: chinesecpadiscussiongroup@gmail.com

CPA Australia Governance and Strategy – Melbourne Chapter

CPA Australia, Level 20
28 Freshwater Place, Southbank 3006

6.30pm – 8.30pm

Mike Collins FCPA
M: 0407 883 545
E:
collinsmike@y7mail.com

CPA and ICAI Melbourne chapter

CPA Australia, Level 20
28 Freshwater Place, Southbank 3006

6.00pm – 8.00pm
Various dates

Sameer Manduskar
M: 0417 527 193
E: chairman@melbourneicai.org

Srini Vasan
M: 0408 007 714
E: srini.vasan3127@gmail.com

Forensics and financial investigations group

CPA Australia, Level 20
28 Freshwater Place, Southbank 3006

7.30am – 9.00am
Last Wednesday of the month

Greg O’Neil
M: 0407 355 635
P: 5225 7098
E: gregory_o’neil@tac.vic.gov.au

Stephen Bourchier
M: 0427 971 176
P: 5225 6264
E: stephen.bourchier@vpsc.vic.au

Stephen Mangos
E: stephen_mangos@tac.vic.gov.au

Hospitality and tourism

Various Locations

6.30 pm – 10.00 pm

Colin Pollard 
M: 0414 799 330 
E: capollardco@gmail.com    

Bernard Short
E: bernardshort@stamford.com.au

Joint estate and tax planning

The Australian Club
110 William Street, Melbourne 3000

6.30pm – 9.00pm
First Monday of the month

Bert Brauns 
P: 9889 5556
E: bert.brauns@brauns.com.au

Roelof Van Der Merwe
P: 9258 6700
E: roelof.vandermerwe@crowehorwath.com.au

Madgwicks Lawyers - CBD Accounting

Level 33 140 William Street, Melbourne 3000

6.00pm onwards
Second Wednesday of the month

Peter Holdsworth
P: 9242 4744
E: peter.holdsworth@madgwicks.com.au

Mum's and Bub's

Eastern Innovation & Business Centre
5A Hartnett Close, Mulgrave 3170

10am – 12pm
2nd Wednesday of the month

Rebecca Pullia
M: 0414 988 377
E: cpamumsandbubs@gmail.com

North West

Keilor Hotel
Old Keilor Road, Essendon North 3041

6.30pm onwards
Third Monday of the month

Alex Robertson
Benjamin White

E: westernsuburbs2@gmail.com

Self-managed super fund (SMSF)

CPA Australia, Level 20
28 Freshwater Place, Southbank 3006

6.00pm – 8.00pm
Third Tuesday of the month

Ping Wang
M: 0411 783 385
E: ping@cyberaccounting.com.au

Tiffany Yang
M: 0408 925 599
E: tyang@enlightensuper.com.au

Taxation group no. 1 - Carlton

Clyde Hotel (upstairs)
385 Cardigan Street, Carlton 3052

6.15pm for 6.30pm start
Third Monday of the month

Mr Kris Borisov
P: 9336 3300
E: kris@borisovaccounting.com.au

Toastmasters Club 

CPA Australia, Level 20
28 Freshwater Place, Southbank 3006

6.30pm – 8.30pm
First and third Thursday of the month

Club President: Alan Lim
Vice-President Education: Michel Martin
Vice-President Membership: Ping Goh
Vice-President Public Relation: Dave Anderson
Secretary: Rohan Kandapper
Treasurer: Vicky Chiang
Sergeant at Arms: Chloe Lin

E: general enquiry - info.cpatoastmasters@gmail.com
E: membership enquiry - membership.cpatoastmasters@gmail.com

Warrnambool

Warrnambool Cheese & Butter
5331 Great Ocean Road, Allansford 3277
South Training Room

12.00pm – 1.30pm

To be confirmed

E: vic.discussiongroups@cpaaustralia.com.au

Western suburbs 3 - Caroline Springs

The Quest Caroline Springs
234 Caroline Springs Boulevard, Caroline Springs 3023

6.30pm onwards

Milton Young
Dong Ye
Gerard Leslie

E: westernsuburbs3@gmail.com

Women's CPA discussion group 

CPA Australia, Level 20
28 Freshwater Place, Southbank 3006

6.00pm – 8.30pm
Various Dates, please contact conveners

Jennifer Botha - Chair
Annie Ho - Deputy Chair
Priscilla Wang - Secretary

E: womencpadiscussiongroup@gmail.com

GOVERNMENT

Discussion group

Contact

Department of Human Services

DHS
Level 1 – Conference Room
50 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne 3000

12.00pm – 2.00pm

Aubrey Mair
P: 9096 6144
E: aubrey.mair@dhhs.vic.gov.au

Department of Treasury and Finance

Level 1
1 MacArthur Street, Melbourne 3000

10.30am – 11.30am
Four times yearly – last Wednesday of the month

Natasha Waters
P: 9651 2340
E: natasha.waters@dtf.vic.gov.au

Joe Bonnici
P: 9651 2663
E: joe.bonnici@dtf.vic.gov.au

Management Accountants

Discussion group

Contact

Central management accounting group

CPA Australia, Level 20
28 Freshwater Place, Southbank 3006

12.00pm – 2.00pm
Last Tuesday of the month

Russell Day
M: 0419 398 880
E: theresad@bigpond.com

Eastern management accounting group

Tudor Inn Box Hill
1101 Whitehorse Road, Box Hill 3120

6.30pm – 9.30pm
Third Monday of the month

Letitia Allan
M: 0409 595 202
E: letitia.allan@miele.com.au
E: easternmagcpa@hotmail.com 

Nadine Seager
E: nseager07@hotmail.com

South Eastern management accountant

Waverley Golf Club
82 Bergins Street, Rowville 3178

5.30pm – 8.30pm
Third Thursday of the month

Ernest Collins
M: 0425 713 721
E: ernie.collins01@optusnet.com.au

Susan Donald
M: 0415 582 865
E: susanadonald@outlook.com

Management and corporate accounting
Mildura Fruit Company – Boardroom
2-24 The Crescent, Mildura 3500

7.30am start
Various dates

Lisa Joliffe
E: lfjolliffe@yahoo.com.au

Not-for-profit

Discussion group

Contact

Bendigo regional not-for-profit

All Season Bendigo
171-183 McIvor Hwy, Bendigo 3550

3.30pm – 5.30pm,
Third Friday – bi-monthly

Jason Kharoofa
P: 5441 9303
E: jason@bendigoaccountingandfinance.com.au

#Forpurpose

CPA Australia, Level 20
28 Freshwater Place, Southbank 3006

Various dates and times

Anne King
Katie Bishop
Jiembra Sheils

M: 0425 871 555
E: forpurpose.cpa@gmail.com

Geelong not-for-profit

GMHBA Arena, Level 2
Premiership Stand, LaTrobe Terrace

6.00pm – 8.00pm
Second Wednesday of the month

Mark Shrimpton 
E: shrimp.mark@gmail.com

Roger Butcher 
M: 0418 363 670
E: roger@rlbassocs.net.au

Sport

CPA Australia, Level 20
28 Freshwater Place, Southbank 3006

8.30am – 10.00am
Various dates

Kerry Harris
E: kerry@focusconsultants.com.au

Public Practice

Discussion group

Contact

ABACUS CPA

CPA Australia, Level 20
28 Freshwater Place, Southbank 3006

6.00pm – 9.00pm
Fourth Tuesday of the month

Mimmo Prinzi
P: 9388 0654
E: mprinzi@primus.com.au

Sam Di Francesco
P: 9525 3811
E: samd@thwhite.com.au

Asia Pacific accountants

David Yew & Co
Level 1
132 Victoria Street, Richmond 3121

6.00pm – 8.00pm

David Yew
P: 9429 8835
E: Yewco@bigpond.com

Asian practising accountants

Alvie Hall
314 High Street Road, Mount Waverley 3149

7.30pm – 9.30pm
Third Tuesday of the month 

Peter Loh
M: 0416 228 636
E: plohandco@gmail.com

Benedict (Ben) Lam
P: 9841 9636
E: blam@bigpond.net.au


Central practising accountants

The Carringbush Hotel
226-228 Langridge Street, Abbotsford 3067
(Just east of Hoddle Street)

5.15pm for 5.30pm start 
Fourth Monday of the month

Sharry Knight
E: sharryn@gardinerknight.com.au

Lena Smarrelli
E: Lena@account.com.au

Cheltenham and districts

West Brighton Club
22 Park Street, Brighton 3186

6.00pm – 9.00pm
Third Tuesday of the month

Ted Turner
P: 9551 2822
E: ted.turner@ashfords.com.au

Timothy Holden
P: 9521 6662
E: tholden@foremans.com.au

CPA Eastern Suburbs

QPO Cafe Bar
186 High Street, Kew 3101

6:30pm onwards
Second Wednesday of the month

Maria Patterson
P: 9467 0000
E: mariap@donegans.com.au

Shane Deane
P: 9818 8800
E: shane@dyeco.com.au

Dandenong practising accountants

Kingswood Golf Club
Centre Dandenong Road, Dingley 3172

6.00pm – 9.00pm

Simon Nelson
P: 9670 0080
E: snelson@bpsreconstruction.com.au

Craig Smith
P: 9551 2822

Doncaster professionals

Shopping Town Hotel
Skyline Room
19 Williamsons Road, Doncaster

6.00pm – 8.00pm
6.00pm – 10.00pm (Alternating month)
Fourth Wednesday of every month except April (third Wednesday)

Divya Mathew
E: shibu_divya@yahoo.com

Dorset

Club Kilsyth
1-15 Canterbury Road, Bayswater North 3153

6.00pm – 8.00pm
First Wednesday of the month

Stephen Jones
M: 0425 815 705
P: 9800 3433
E: stephen@atmconsultants.com.au

Laura Bronts
M: 0413 441 400
P: 9613 5525
E: laura.bronts@worrells.net.au

Eastern suburbs practising accountants

Auburn Hotel
85 Auburn Road, Hawthorn East 3122

6.00pm – 8.00pm
Last Wednesday of the month

Tony Perree
P: 8566 8585
E: tony@perreemium.com.au

Peter Rennie
P: 9804 0211
E: prennie@bedfords.com.au

Essendon practising accountants

Cross Keys Hotel
350 Pascoe Vale Road, Essendon 3040

6.00pm – 8.00pm
First Monday of the month

Frank Legudi
P: 9680 1000
E: fl@collinsco.com.au

Geelong practice chat

Belmont Library
163 High Street, Belmont 3216

6.00pm – 7.30pm 
Third Wednesday of the month

Roger Butcher
M: 0418 363 670
E: roger@rlbassocs.net.au

Jackie Sawyer
P: 0412 056 548
E: jackie.sa29@gmail.com

Geelong sole practitioners

256 Latrobe Terrace, Geelong 3220

5.45pm – 7.30pm
First Tuesday of the month

Peter Ignatius Bloink
P: 5223 2397
E: dennis@denniscomeraccounting.com.au

Greek accountants

Limerick Arms Hotel
364 Clarendon Street, South Melbourne 3250

6.30pm sharp
Third Wednesday of the month

Nicholas Giasoumi
P: 9818 8800
E: nicholas@dyeco.com.au

GST-ing

Department of Education & Early Childhood
33 St Andrews Place, Melbourne 3000

11.00am – 1.00pm
Various dates

Wayne McKenna 
P: 9397 8826
E: wayne@syris.com.au

Inner eastern

Tower Hotel
686 Burwood Road, Hawthorn East 3123

6.30pm – 9.00pm
Third Tuesday of the month

Mary Simoni 
P: 0413 960 459 
E: simoni@bigpond.net.au

Paul Kinross 
P: 0403 058 017
E: paulkinross@optusnet.com.au  

Inner south

In-House Group
Morrows Pty Ltd, Level 13
28 Freshwater Place, Southbank 3006

4.00pm – 6.00pm

Graeme Marks 
P: 9690 5700
E: gmarks@morrows.com.au 

Cathryn Owen
E: cowen@morrows.com.au

Mornington Peninsula Practising Accountants

Mornington Golf Club
Tallis Drive, Mornington 3931 

6.30pm – 8.30pm
First Thursday of the month

Aleda Clarke
M: 0414 310 265
E: aleda@directapproach.com.au

Kylie Marie Sheaves
M: 0400 851 562
E: kyliesheaves@live.com.au

Need to discuss (NTD) round table 

CPA Australia, Level 20
28 Freshwater Place, Southbank 3006

6:30pm – 8:30pm

Manzur Isa
P: 9547 8587
E: info@tbaas.com.au

Amanda White
M: 0412 848 175
E: ajwhite@live.com.au

Northern management accounting group

Cramers Hotel
1 Cramer Street, Preston 3072

6.00pm – 8.00pm
Third Tuesday of the month  

Romeo Tullio
M: 0412 862 880
E: rtullio@optushome.com.au

Kelly Jenkins
M: 0430 955 538
E: kelly.jenkins@cat.com

Northern suburbs practicing

Mantra Bell City
215 Bell Street, Preston 3072

6.30pm – 9.00pm
Second Monday of the month (except Public Holidays)

Andrew Juzva
P: 9662 2666
E: andrew@gsandrews.com.au

Piang Kang 
P: 9953 9408
E: piang.kang@cat.com

Northern suburbs women

Cramer's Hotel
1 Cramer Street, Preston 3072

6.00pm – 8.00pm
Last Wednesday of the month

Christine Ford
M: 0423 271 489
Freya Shaw
M: 0431 927 279
Geraldine Allen

E: cpanswdg@gmail.com

Ocean Grove

Ocean Grove Neighbourhood Centre
Crn John Dory & Marlin Drive, Ocean Grove 3226

Last Wednesday of the month

Cherre Hawkins
M: 0439 456 693
E: cherreh@aibss.com.au

Roger Butcher
M: 0418 363 670
E: roger@rlbassocs.net.au

Point Cook Practice Chat

Point Cook Business Centre, Level 1
2 Main Street, Point Cook 3030

6.00pm – 8.00pm
Last Thursday of the month

Roger Butcher
M: 0418 363 670
E: roger@rlbassocs.net.au

Leighton Zhang
M: 0432 869 968
E: leighton.melbourne@gmail.com

Professional practice

Contact Ruth Same for venue and date details

6.00pm – 8.00pm
Second Monday of the month (unless a public holiday)

David Wharton
P: 9567 8588
E: david.wharton@whmpartners.com.au

Ruth Same
P: 9800 2482
E: accountant@ruthsame.com.au

Pro-active

Monk & Me
9 Evans Place, Hawthorn East 3123

6.30pm – 8.30pm
First Tuesday of the month

Harold Stanley Prag
P: 9832 0887
E: harold@hsprag.com.au

Aurelio Catalano
P: 9017 0261
E: aurelio@agenttax.com.au

Public practice residential

Ecco Restaurant
97 Toorak Road, South Yarra 3141

6.30pm – 8.30pm

Alex Giansiracusa
M: 0419 504 884
E: alex@rizzaalexander.com.au

Paul Lam 
M: 0411 310 466
E: taxfin@optusnet.com.au

Ringwood practising accountants

Club Ringwood
Maroondah Hwy and Oban Road, Ringwood

6.00pm – 8.00pm
Fourth Wednesday of the month

Matthew Kucianski
E: matthew.kucianski@worrells.net.au

South Melbourne public accountants

Club Tivoli
291 Dandenong Road, Windsor 3181

5.30pm – 8.30pm
Last Wednesday of the month

Peter Baker
P: 9699 7292
E: peterjbaker@bigpond.com

Southern suburbs practising accountants

Buckingham International
1130 Nepean Highway, Highett 3190
(Royal Room)

6.30pm – 9.00pm
Second Tuesday of the month

Michelle Frey
P: 9589 3521
E: michelle@hermann.com.au

Garry James
M: 0417 104 011
E: garry@kidmanspartners.com.au

Taxation group no. 2 - Malvern

Malvernval Hotel
1321 Malvern Road, Malvern 3144

6.30pm – 9.00pm  
Fourth Thursday of the month

David Ackland
P: 9670 7475
E: davida@lindsayiles.com.au

Taxation group no. 3 - Melbourne Place

Kevin Club
Melbourne Place, Melbourne 3000

6.30pm – 8.30pm

First Wednesday of the month

Peter Gould 
P: 9558 6484 
E: peter@pgould.com.au

Taxation group no. 4 - Southbank

CPA Australia, Level 20
28 Freshwater Place, Southbank 3006

6.00pm – 8.00pm
Second Tuesday of the month

Brian Comport
P: 9596 8123
E: bcomport@bigpond.com

Shu Zhen (Susan) Sha
P: 9887 8786
E: sjtaxation@gmail.com

Taxation group no. 5 - Southbank

CPA Australia, Level 20
28 Freshwater Place 
Southbank 3006

6.00pm – 8.00pm
Last Tuesday of the month

Joseph Di Gregorio 
P: 9380 4212 
M: 0417 351 752
E: jogreg@ozemail.com.au

Taxation group no. 6 - Kew

Baumgartner Partners, Level 1
35 Cotham Road, Kew3101

6.00pm – 8.00pm
Second Wednesday of the month

Ben Taylor
P: 9851 9000
E: bt@baumgartner.com.au

Lynn Teo
M: 0433 138 108
E: lteo1@kpmg.com.au

Victoria North

Abruzzo Club
377 Lygon Street, East Brunswick 3057

6.30pm – 8.30pm
Last Wednesday of the month

Kristen Beadle
P: 8622 3233
E: kbeadle@smbvic.com.au

Jonathan Jackson
P: 9818 8800
E: jonathan@dyeco.com.au

Victorian insolvency and reconstruction

Pitcher Partners, Level 19
15 William Street, Melbourne 3000

6.00pm – 8.00pm
First Monday of the month (except January and November)

Bill Nerlich
P: 9909 7602
E: wnerlich@nerlaw.com.au

Hugh Milne 
P: 9679 2203
M: 0407 513 395
E: hugh@hamiltonmurphy.com.au

Waverley financial planning

IBIS Melbourne – Glen Waverley
285 Springvale Road, Glen Waverley 3150

6.00pm – 9.00pm

Warren McKeown
P: 8344 5309
E: wmckeown@unimelb.edu.au

Arthur Kyriakou
P: 9809 7377
E: admin@kyriakou.com.au

Alistair Blake
P: 9886 5488
E: alistair@ajblake.com.au

Waverley practising accountants

IBIS Melbourne – Glen Waverley
285 Springvale Road, Glen Waverley 3150

6.00pm – 8.00pm
Last Monday of the month

Graeme Corcoran
P: 9888 3111
E: graeme@corcoran.com.au

Joan Ducza
P: 9807 2255
E: jducza@ymbf.com.au

Yarra Valley financial planning

Yarra Valley Country Club
Templestowe Road, Bullen 3105

6.30pm – 9.00pm

Kevin McKay 
P:9840 1477
E: kevin@mckayfp.com.au

Kevin Moylan
E: kevin.moylan@netspace.net.au

Real Estates

Discussion group

Contact

Ballarat Property

Location, date and time to be advised

Bronwyn Britton
E: bronwyn@integragroup.com.au

Small and medium enterprises

Discussion group

Contact

Box Hill small-to-medium enterprise

Box Hill institute, Elgar Building, Room E8.226
456 Elgar Road, Box Hill 3128

6.00pm – 8.00pm

Ramesh Bhalla
E: rkbhalla@yahoo.com

Peter Ho
M: 0421 699 688
E: mycornerstones77@gmail.com

Small and medium enterprises group

CPA Australia, Level 20
28 Freshwater Place, Southbank 3006

6.00pm – 8.00pm
Second Wednesday of the month

Andrew Cahill
P: 9095 6277
M: 0409 663 939
E: ajcahill@optusnet.com.au

 

Third Age

Third aged network

CPA Australia, Level 20
28 Freshwater Place, Southbank 3006

12.00pm – 2.30pm
Various dates

Dr Rob Webster
M: 0428 100 170
E: tandiscussiongroup@gmail.com

Geelong Third Age

Geelong RSL – The Boardroom
50 Baron Heads Road, Belmont 3216

6.00pm – 8.00pm
Second Thursday, bi-monthly

Jackie Sawyer
M: 0412 056 548
E: j_sawyer@optusnet.com.au

Roger Butcher
M: 0418 363 670
E: roger@rlbassocs.net.au

Women

Discussion group

Contact

Bendigo women in figures

Contact conveners for venue details

5.30pm – 7.30pm 
Fourth Thursday of the month

Sharon Gleeson
M: 0407 439 899

Kylie McKellar
M: 0459 032 139
E: womeninfigures@gmail.com

Eastern suburbs women (CPA/IPA)

Boardroom
1101 Whitehorse Road, Box Hill 3128

7.15pm – 9.15pm

Sue Taylor
P: 9874 5245

Kathleen Toal
P: 9432 9774 

Claudia Haddad 
M: 0421 031 699

Lumi Catrina
M: 0400 303 347

E: esadg3@gmail.com