CPA Australia announces new directors

Content Summary

CPA Australia is pleased to announce the appointment of four directors to our board and the election of our President and Chairman and two Deputy Presidents. 

Three new directors have been appointed to the board and one director has been re-appointed. These appointments are: 

  • Professor Yew Kee Ho FCPA (Aust.), FCA (Singapore), CFA (USA), Associate Provost (SkillsFuture), Cluster Director, Design and Specialised Businesses and Professor of Accounting at Singapore Institute of Technology.
  • Warren McRae FCPA, a senior executive with experience in risk, governance, digital and technology innovation and organisational transformation for a major multi-national financial services organisation.
  • Bernard Che-Wai Poon FCPA (Aust.), a Partner at Ernst & Young (EY) specialising in valuations and financial modelling with extensive experience in the valuation of businesses, shares and intangible assets for transaction analysis, business strategy, taxation, financial reporting and acting as an expert witness.
  • Professor Dale Pinto FCPA, Director at CPA Australia since 2018 and Deputy President since October 2020, Chair of the Academic Board at Curtin University, Professor of Taxation Law in the Curtin Law School.

Professor Dale Pinto, Professor Yew Kee Ho and Warren McRae have each been appointed for a three-year term commencing on the 1st of October 2021. Bernard Che-Wai Poon has been appointed to fill a casual vacancy for one year from 1 October 2021.

These appointments bring the number of directors on the board to ten, the maximum permitted by the CPA Australia Constitution. The Appointments Council, comprising members elected from CPA Australia's Divisional Councils, made the appointment in accordance with CPA Australia's Constitution.

Merran Kelsall FCPA has been re-elected as President and Chairman of the board. Professor Dale Pinto FCPA has been re-elected as Deputy President alongside Rosemary Sinclair AM FCPA who has also been elected Deputy President.

“I am honoured to be re-elected as President and Chairman of CPA Australia and I congratulate Professor Pinto and Rosemary Sinclair on being elected Deputy Presidents,” said Merran Kelsall. 

“I congratulate Professor Pinto, Professor Yew Kee Ho, Warren McRae and Bernard Che-Wai Poon on their appointment to the Board. They are each highly respected in the accounting profession and share the board’s strong commitment to deliver value and services to members.”

Su-Yen Wong and Ric De Santi are retiring as directors effective from the 30th of September 2021. Su-Yen Wong has been a Director since 2018 and Ric De Santi has served as a Director since 2017 and as co-Deputy President since October 2020.

“CPA Australia sincerely thanks Su-Yen and Ric for the significant contribution they have made as directors and their unwavering focus on members,” said Ms Kelsall.

The ten members of the CPA Australia Board from 1 October 2021 are:

  • Merran Kelsall FCPA, President and Chairman
  • Professor Dale Pinto FCPA, Deputy President
  • Rosemary Sinclair AM FCPA, Deputy President
  • Michaela Browning, Director
  • Louise Cox FCPA, Director
  • Professor Yew Kee Ho FCPA (Aust.), Director
  • Helen Lorigan, Director
  • Warren McRae FCPA, Director
  • Bernard Che-Wai Poon FCPA (Aust.), Director
  • Peter Wilson AM FCPA, Director.

Media contact

Dr Jane Rennie, General Manager External Affairs on +61 425 869 017 or Email: [email protected]