CPA Australia is currently seeking applications from suitably qualified members to join one of our four Centres of Excellence (CoE).

More information about our CoEs can be found below this notice. 

We are looking for expressions of interest from members with the following skills, interests and backgrounds for each of the CoEs:

External reporting

Two vacancies

Preference for candidates having any of the following roles or expertise:

  • public sector auditor
  • financial analyst/user of audited financial reports
  • expertise in quality, risk or ethics relevant to external reporting
  • expertise in assuring or preparing emerging forms of external reporting
  • expertise in digital technologies affecting reporting and assurance. 

Environmental, social and governance 

Two vacancies

Preference for candidates having any of the following roles or expertise:

  • senior managers of corporations, GBEs and public sector agencies having significant environmental and social impacts which are being positively and strategically managed
  • corporate governance specialists
  • senior managers involved in both financial and non-financial disclosure and/or assurance 
  • consultants on sustainability and corporate social responsibility 
  • academics specialising in ESG and sustainability matters. 

Retirement savings 

Eight positions to be progressively renewed throughout 2018

Preference for candidates having any of the following roles or expertise:

  • retirement savings policy 
  • self-managed superannuation funds
  • APRA funds (retail, industry, corporate or public sector) as trustees or in administration, accounting, or investments 
  • financial advice (institutional and independent) 
  • retirement income streams and pensions. 


Eight positions to be progressively renewed throughout 2018

Seeking a mix of members with strong tax policy, tax law, or tax administration knowledge and experience.

If these opportunities are of interest, note that appointment terms are for two years and nominations close on Friday 30 March.

To request a nomination form, contact

Our Centres of Excellence

CPA Australia has four Centres of Excellence (CoE) comprised of members with special expertise in core areas.

They provide thought leadership, highlight and explore issues and trends likely to affect members and the profession, and support CPA Australia in developing and shaping policy on these issues and have an international and regional focus. 

Areas of expertise 


  • Provide guidance on policy and issues
  • Identify issues relevant to the profession in a timely and effective way
  • Provide advice on legislation requiring response or comment
  • Provide input and feedback on policy responses
  • Provide thought leadership
  • Address issues which impact the profession, focusing on changes in the wider economic environment are a strategic sounding board for management
  • Provide input on proposed CPA Australia products


Members are selected from:

  • small-to-medium sized enterprises
  • corporate sector
  • public sector
  • public practice
  • business advisers and consultants
  • academia
  • not-for-profit organisations.

Membership tenure is for two years, after which a member can be renominated. Interested members of CPA Australia are invited to nominate for membership of the CoE and are appointed by the CEO or their delegate.