The Divisional Councils key role is member engagement and local support for CPA Australia and maintaining the integrity of the designation. Divisional Councils are an important conduit between the members and CPA Australia’s Board and the organisation more broadly. Depending on the size and complexity of the Division, regional committee branches, speciality interest and sector committees or networks may support the work of Divisional Councils in member engagement and advocacy activities. Divisional Councillors are elected by the membership in the Division, usually to a three-year term.

Contact your Divisional Council President

You can contact your Divisional President via e-mail:

[email protected]


Fiona Stagg

Fiona Stagg FCPA – President


Sector: Corporate

With a strong background in the corporate sector, including senior finance roles for agricultural and aquacultural companies, Fiona brings extensive accounting and finance experience to the Tasmanian Divisional Council. In addition, Fiona has expertise in change management, systems implementation, manufacturing and governance. Her current role includes overseeing the Nichols Poultry financial operations, involvement in strategic projects, and the group payroll for Tasfoods Ltd. Fiona is a Fellow of CPA Australia, a graduate of AICD and is a Board and Committee Member of ILC Tasmania.

Ric di Santi

Ric De Santi FCPA – Deputy President

Deputy Auditor General and Chief Operating Officer, Tasmanian Audit Office

Sector: Government

Ric is the Deputy Auditor General and Chief Operating Officer with the Tasmanian Audit Office. He has extensive public sector experience, including management, financial and performance audit and reporting. Ric is a Fellow of CPA Australia, a Registered Company Auditor and a Graduate of the AICD. He is a Director of CPA Australia, including being a member of the Board’s Audit and Risk and Member Engagement Committees. He is also a member of CPA Australia’s Public Sector Network. Ric is a Commissioner with the Tasmanian Catholic Education Commission, including Chair of its Finance Committee, and a member of the Australasian Council of Auditors-General (ACAG) Financial Reporting and Accounting Committee and Chair of the ACAG Heads of Financial Audit Group.

Gary O'Donovan

Professor Gary O’Donovan FCPA – Deputy President

Emeritus Professor in Accounting, University of Tasmania

Sector: Academia

With an academic career spanning 37 years, Professor O’Donovan has gained national and international standing as a researcher in the field of sustainability reporting. He is widely published and has presented across the globe on subjects of corporate environmental reporting, business education, governance and accountability, SMEs and corporate organisations, and social and environmental teaching practices.

Professor O’Donovan is a former Pro Vice-Chancellor (Global Engagement - 2016) and Pro Vice-Chancellor (Students & Education 2009-2010) and Dean of the Tasmanian School of Business and Economics (then the Faculty of Business 2005-2008; 2011-2015) at the University of Tasmania. He is a member of CPA Australia’s Professional Qualifications Advisory Committee. Gary is a former Tasmanian Divisional Council President and was awarded the CPA Australia’s Board of Directors Award for Outstanding Service in 2016.

Paul Gimpl

Paul Gimpl FCPA – Councillor

CFO City of Launceston

Sector: Local government

As CFO, Paul is a member of the Executive Management Team of the City of Launceston. This role focuses on strategic and tactical matters and modelling the effect decisions will have on the long-term financial and asset planning budgets of the Council. Paul is the Tasmanian representative on CPA Australia’s Appointments Council.

Carolyn Harris FCPA

Carolyn Harris FCPA – Councillor

Manager, Tasmanian Dairy Industry Authority

Sector: Regulatory Authority

Carolyn works in government and has a strong interest in the not-for-profit sector. She recognises the importance of keeping members informed how CPA Australia delivers value to members.

James Hipwood

James Hipwood CPA – Councillor

CFO, Tasmanian Irrigation

Sector: Corporate

James has more than 10 years' business and accounting experience in a wide variety of sectors, organisations, locations and finance roles.  Launceston based, James leads the corporate services team for Tasmania's largest private bus operator. James is passionate about seeing the Tasmanian community succeed and sits on the board for other not-for-profit organisations the Northern Tasmanian Football Association and the Mowbray Golf Club.

Roger Lu

Roger Lu CPA – Councillor

Case Officer / Valuation Adviser, Australian Taxation Office

Sector: Public

Roger is a trilingual, qualified accountant with experience across the accounting and financial services sectors, with focus in taxation law, business valuation and superannuation fund matters. Previously, Roger has worked in a listed financial services group and an accounting firm in Hobart. He holds a BBus from UTAS, a Diploma of Financial Services and he is a fellow of Tax Institute Australia.

Lisa McManus FCPA

Lisa McManus FCPA – Councillor

Head of School – Accounting, Economics and Finance Professor of Accounting

Sector: Education

Lisa has more than 20 years’ experience in educating accounting students. While mainly teaching financial accounting, along with data analytics and research methods, her research interests are in management accounting. She is keen to strengthen the links between CPA Australia and the university sector.

Eleanor Patterson

Eleanor Patterson FCPA – Councillor

Acting Chief Financial Officer, Department of Health and Human Services

Sector: Government

Eleanor has more than 20 years’ experience in the public sector, including 15 years in health. She has significant experience in financial management, financial reporting and compliance, and monitoring financial performance. Her qualifications include a BCom/Laws, she is Graduate of the AICD and is studying for a Graduate Diploma of Applied Corporate Governance. Eleanor is a past director of the Tasmanian Council for AIDS, Hepatitis and Related Diseases and has previously been Treasurer for the Dirt Devils/Hobart Wheelers Cycling Club.

Donna Powell CPA

Donna Powell CPA – Councillor

Commercial Manager – Wrest Point

Sector: Corporate

Donna has more than 10 years’ audit, accounting and business experience, working in a range of public sector, corporate, SME and public practice roles in Hobart and the UK. Donna is a graduate of the AICD and holds a BCom and BA from the University of Tasmania. She sits on the boards of YMCA Hobart and the Hobart Repertory Theatre Society.

Margaret Richards

Meg Richards FCPA – Councillor

Chief Financial Officer and Company Secretary, AWM Group Management Services Pty Ltd

Sector: Corporate

Meg has been with AWM Group Management Services Pty Ltd, or related companies, for more than 16 years. She started as a financial accountant and is now CFO and Company Secretary. The business is responsible for the administration of 15 privately owned related companies in Australia and overseas. The majority of these companies are involved in the manufacturing or wholesale of textiles.

Claire Smith

Claire Smith CPA – Councillor

Director Strategic Services, Cradle Coast Authority

Sector: Public Sector

Claire has more than 15 years’ of progressive experience across a diverse range of industries. Claire is passionate about the importance of local government and the role the profession can play in shaping Tasmania’s future, especially in regional areas facing significant economic challenges. She has an interest in increasing the visibility, confidence and influence of CPAs as public administration professionals.