4 July

Independent Review Panel Communique

The Independent Review panel that has been tasked with undertaking the review of CPA Australia met for the first time in Melbourne on Tuesday.

Panel Chair, Ian McPhee said the panel had considered the Terms of Reference during its meeting.

“The Terms of Reference are broad enough to allow the issues that have been raised by members and others to be addressed through the review process.”

“As a priority we want to establish an appropriate communications framework that will allow us to engage with CPA Australia’s members.”

“We will keep members updated as we settle on the exact nature of this framework but as soon as practicable we want to establish a website presence that will be able to act as a mechanism for members to provide feedback both in a domestic and international environment.”

“We believe insights that will inform the improved performance of CPA Australia into the future will be particularly valuable.”

“We propose to meet with the consultative panel of Divisional Presidents as part of the review process and as we develop our work plan we will schedule other meeting opportunities as appropriate. We also intend to invite submissions from members.”

“We have been offered full support from CPA Australia including access to the resources we may require to conduct the review effectively and efficiently.”

The panel will provide a preliminary report by 15 September.


Independent Reviewers

Ian McPhee AO PSM (Chair)
Ian McPhee is a company director, audit committee member, honorary professor at the Australian National University, and has also undertaken governance reviews in the public and private sectors. He was the Auditor-General for Australia during the period 2005-15, and prior to that role was a Deputy Secretary in the Department of Finance.

Su McCluskey (Member)
Su McCluskey is a Director of Australian Unity and the Foundation for Young Australians, Chairman of Energy Renaissance and a member of the Ministerial Advisory Council on Skilled Migration. Su is a member of the independent review of the NSW Regulatory Policy Framework and was a member of the Harper Review of Competition Policy and the Regional Telecommunications Independent Review Committee. She was previously the CEO of the Regional Australia Institute, Executive Director of the Australian Government Office of Best Practice Regulation, and has held senior roles with the Business Council of Australia, the National Farmers’ Federation and the Australian Taxation Office. She is a Fellow of CPA Australia.

Maryjane Crabtree (Member)
Maryjane Crabtree a director of the Law Institute of Victoria and chair of its Corporate Governance Committee. She has extensive experience on boards and Ethics Committees in the government and not for profit sectors. Maryjane is Deputy President of Epworth Healthcare.

Professor Bob Baxt AO (Expert Advisor)
Bob Baxt is chairman of the Law Committee of the AICD, a member of the Executive of the Business Law Section of the Law Council of Australia, a professorial Fellow of the University of Melbourne, and a former Chairman of the Trade Practices Commission. A consultant at Herbert Smith Freehills lawyers, he is an expert practitioner and academic in trade practices, corporate law and taxation law.