COMPARISON OF PAYROLL TAX CHANGES TO ASSIST BUSINESSES IMPACTED BY COVID-19

Waiving payroll tax liabilities

State/Territory	Length of waiver	Eligibility threshold	Other information
Australian Capital Territory	Six-month waiver - April to September 2020	All businesses whose operations are directly affected by the ' prohibited activities list '.	You must <u>apply</u> for the waiver
New South Wales	Equivalent of a three- month waiver. The annual payroll tax liability for 2019-20 reduced by 25 per cent.	Businesses with total grouped Australian wages for the 2019-20 financial year of up to \$10 million.	For monthly payments, no payment for the months of March, April or May 2020 will be required.
			See <u>here</u> for more information
Victoria	12-month waiver. A taxpayer's annual payroll tax liability for 2019-20 will be waived.	Businesses with a payroll of up to \$3 million .	See <u>here</u> for more information
Western Australia	Three-month waiver - 1 March to 30 June 2020	Businesses with an Australia-wide annual wages of up to \$7.5 million in 2019-20.	See <u>here</u> for more information.
Northern Territory	Six-month waiver from 1 April 2020	 Businesses with a total payroll below \$7.5 million; and the businesses must have experienced at least a 30 per cent decline in turnover due to COVID- 19. 	See <u>here</u> for further information.
South Australia	Six-month waiver – April to September	Businesses with group Australian taxable wages of up to \$4 million	See <u>here</u> for further information
Queensland	Five-month waiver – being a payroll tax refund for November and December 2019, and a payroll tax holiday for January to March	Employers who pay \$6.5 million or less in Australian taxable wages	See <u>here</u> for more information
	Two-month waiver – a refund for January and February 2020	Employers who pay more than \$6.5 million in Australian taxable wages	
Tasmania	12-month waiver for 2019-20	For businesses with payrolls of up to \$5 million that can demonstrate that their business impact from COVID-19.	See <u>here</u> for more information
		All Tasmanian hospitality, tourism and seafood industry employers	
		For new employees aged 24 or under	



Deferring Payroll Tax liabilities

State/Territory	Length of deferral	Eligibility criteria	Other information
Australian Capital Territory	12-month deferral on their 2020-21 payroll tax.	 All ACT businesses with Australia-wide wages of up to \$10 million 	See <u>here</u> for more information.
New South Wales	Three-month deferral	Businesses with total grouped Australian wages for the 2019-20 financial year of up to \$10 million	See <u>here</u> for further
New South Wales	Six-month deferral from the March 2020 period	Businesses whose total grouped Australian wages for the 2019/20 financial year are over \$10 million	
Victoria	Three-month deferral for the first three months of the 2020-21 financial year until 1 January 2021	Businesses with a payroll of up to \$3 million	See <u>here</u> for more information.
Western Australia	No deferral		See <u>here</u> for more information
Northern Territory	Six-month deferral from 1 April 2020	 Businesses with a total payroll above \$7.5 million; and the businesses must have experienced at least a 50 per cent decline in turnover due to COVID-19. 	See <u>here</u> for further information.
South Australia	Six-month deferral from April to September 2020	 Businesses with annual Australian wages of above \$4 million; and Those businesses must demonstrate they have been significantly impacted by COVID-19. 	See <u>here</u> for more information
Queensland	12-month deferral for the 2020 calendar year.	All businesses, with businesses with a business that pays more than \$6.5 million in Australian taxable wages having to show their business has been negatively impacted by COVID-19	See <u>here</u> for more information
Tasmania	No deferral		See <u>here</u> for more information

