The council assists the Board of Directors and represents the interests of members in the Australian Capital Territory.  



Hawari Badri FCPA, Assistant Secretary

Department of Immigration and Border Protection
Public sector

Deputy Presidents

Peter Kerr FCPA, Executive Director

Australian National Audit Office
Public sector

Gaye Lindfield CPA, Audit Manager

Public Sector

Gaye currently works as an audit manager in Federal Government specialising in performance audits and reviews, research and business analysis. Gaye has a background as a line manager in finance, governance functions and project management.

Immediate Past President

Tony MarksTony Marks FCPA, General Manager

Geoscience Australia
Public sector

Delivering financial and human capital leadership, information and communication management and delivery of Geoscience Australia’s extensive data and products and its major business transformation change program.  


Simon Ash FCPA, First Assistant Secretary

Department of Communications
Public sector

Michael Burton FCPA, FCA (NZ) CA, Chief Financial Officer

Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS)
Public sector

Based in Canberra, Michael Burton is the current CFO of AIATSIS. Prior to this he was the CFO at the Commonwealth departments of Finance and the Treasury and the Australian Bureau of Statistics. With over 30 years of  experience in both public and private sector financial roles, Michael brings a wealth of experience in public sector financial management to Members.

Jill Divorty FCPA, Executive Director

ACT Shared Services
Public sector

Gerry LillicrapGerry Lillicrap, FCPA, FIIA (Aust), Finance Manager

College of Medicine, Biology & Environment
College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences

Australian National University

Gerry currently provides financial leadership within the Colleges of Science at the Australian National University. Formerly with CatholicCare for 9 years in finance and program management roles he also has 22 years Australian Public Service experience in finance and audit roles within a variety of agencies.

Monir Mir FCPA, Professor

University of Canberra

Monir is a Professor of Accounting at the University of Canberra having previously worked at the University of Wollongong and at the University of New England. Monir completed his PhD in public sector accounting and is a current member of the Finance Committee of the University of Canberra.  He has been supporting CPA Australia as its Campus Liaison Person for the University of Canberra since 2004.

Tim Youngberry FCPA, First Assistant Secretary

Department of Finance
Public sector

Tim is responsible for the program of work to redevelop the Australian Government’s central budgeting and financial management system. Prior to this he was responsible for whole-of-government financial reporting, appropriation management, accounting policy and the budget framework for the government.